Millennium Development Goals

  • BMJ logo
  • logo
  • RCPCH logo

Millennium Development Goals (or MDGs) represent arguably the largest and most cohesive global collaborations to promote health, particularly child health, ever launched.

The project was inaugurated by the United Nations at the 2000 Millennium Development summit and endorsed by all member states. The declaration was philosophically based upon reaching ambitious but potentially achievable targets by 2015 in eight areas: poverty, education, gender equality, child mortality, maternal health, HIV and malaria, environmental sustainability, and the promotion of global development.

Every area has clear direct or indirect relevance to child health and, as the deadline for the first phase of the MDGs is reached, this special ADC supplement "Millennium Development Goals Progress Report" assesses the successes and failures in each of the goals to date, examines progress by world regions and looks beyond 2015 to the next phase.

A selection of articles from the Millennium Development Goals Progress Report

Icon 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Icon 2: Achieve universal primary education
Icon 4: Reduce child mortality
Icon 5: Improve Maternal Health
Icon 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria and Other Diseases